Largest Employers in New Mexico (with 150 or more FTEs)
As of 1/11/11 (Arrayed in descending order by number of employees)
Various Sources (i.e., AED, NMBW Book of Lists, NM Department of Labor, etc.)
Rank Organization City  FTE Link
1 State of New Mexico (statewide) Santa Fe   21,832 www.newmexico.gov
2 UNM (statewide) Albuquerque   20,042 www.unm.edu
3 New Mexico State University (statewide) Las Cruces   12,737 www.nmsu.edu
4 CNM Albuquerque   11,777 www.cnm.edu
5 Albuquerque Public Schools Albuquerque   11,500 www.aps.edu
6 Sandia National Laboratories Albuquerque   10,560 www.lockheedmartin.com
7 Presbyterian Healthcare Services Albuquerque     9,500 www.phs.org
8 Los Alamos National Laboratories Los Alamos     7,949 www.lanl.gov
9 City of Albuquerque Albuquerque     6,940 www.cabq.gov
10 White Sands Missle Range White Sands     6,636 www.wsmr.army.mil
11 US Postal Service (statewide) Albuquerque     5,096 www.usps.gov
12 Las Cruces Public Schools Las Cruces     3,672 www.lcps.k12.nm.us
13 Intel Corporation Rio Rancho     3,300 www.intel.com
14 PNM Resources Inc Albuquerque     3,000 www.pnmresources.com
15 Eastern New Mexico University Portales     2,955 www.enmu.edu
16 Lovelace Medical Centers & Health Plan Albuquerque     2,736 www.lovelace.com
17 Smith's Food & Drug Stores Albuquerque     2,350 www.smithsfoodanddrug.com
18 New Mexico Highlands University Las Vegas     2,165 www.nmhu.edu
19 Santa Fe Community College Santa Fe     2,027 www.sfccnm.edu
20 Santa Fe Public Schools Santa Fe     2,027 www.sfps.k12.nm.us
21 Wells Fargo Bank of New Mexico Albuquerque     1,900 www.wellsfargo.com
22 Clovis Community College Clovis     1,894 www.clovis.edu
23 Pueblo of Sandia Casino Bernalillo     1,800 www.sandiacasino.com
24 Bernalillo County Bernalillo     1,780 www.bernco.gov
25 St. Vincent Regional Medical Center Santa Fe     1,750 www.stvin.org
26 T-Mobile Albuquerque     1,750 www.tmobile.com
27 US Federal Govt (Various agencies) Santa Fe     1,750 www.usa.gov
28 Gadsden Independent Schools Anthony     1,700 www.gisd.k12.nm.us
29 NM Veteran's Affairs Health Care System Albuquerque     1,677 www.albuquerque.va.gov
30 Eclipse Aviation Albuquerque     1,500 www.eclipseaviation.com
31 City of Santa Fe Santa Fe     1,471 www.santafenm.gov
32 San Juan Regional Medical Center Farmington     1,452 www.sanjuanregional.com
33 Verizon Wireless Customer Service Center Albuquerque     1,400 www.verizonwireless.com
34 Farmington Municipal Schools Farmington     1,385 www.fms.k12.nm.us
35 Rio Rancho Public Schools Rio Rancho     1,300 www.rrps.net
36 Citicards Albuquerque     1,274 www.citicards.com
37 Los Lunas Public Schools Los Lunas     1,250 www.llschools.net
38 City of Las Cruces Las Cruces     1,207 www.las-cruces.org
39 Pueblo of Isleta Casino Isleta     1,200 www.isletacasinoresort.com
40 Memorial Medical Center Las Cruces     1,135 www.mmclc.org
41 Honeywell Defense Avionics System Albuquerque     1,100 www.honeywell.com/das
42 Allsup Enterprises Clovis     1,071 www.allsups.com
43 American Property Management Corp Albuquerque     1,050 N/A
44 MJG Corporation Roswell        905 N/A
45 Blake's Lotaburger Inc Albuquerque        900 www.lotaburger.com
46 First State Bancorporation Inc Albuquerque        900 www.fsbnm.com
47 City of Farmington Farmington        893 www.fmtn.org
48 Pueblo of Santa Ana Casino Santa Ana Pueblo        875 www.santaanastar.com
49 Albuquerque Publishing Company Albuquerque        870 www.abqjournal.com
50 Coldwell Banker Legacy Albuquerque        864 www.cblegacy.com
51 Gardunos (Tortillas Inc) Albuquerque        850 www.gardunosrestaurants.com
52 Santa Ana Star Casino Bernalillo        841 www.santaanastar.com
53 Bank of America Albuquerque        825 www.bankofamerica.com
54 New Mexico Institute of Mining & Technology Socorro        818 www.nmt.edu
55 BlueCross BlueShield New Mexico Albuquerque        800 www.bcbsnm.com
56 Dona Ana County Government Las Cruces        800 www.co.dona-ana.nm.us
57 Sprint PCS Rio Rancho        800 www.sprint.com
58 Tricore Reference Laboratories Albuquerque        800 www.tricore.org
59 Wal-Mart Supercenter Las Cruces        800 www.walmart.com
60 US Forest Service Albuquerque        750 www.fs.fed.us
61 US Bureau of Land Management Santa Fe        726 www.blm.gov
62 Ambercare Home Health Belen        691 www.ambercare.com
63 Pueblo of Acoma Casino Acoma        687 www.skycity.com
64 Heritage Home Health Care Albuquerque        670 www.heritagehomehealthcare.com
65 Santa Fe Opera Santa Fe        650 www.santafeopera.org
66 Comcast Albuquerque        647 www.comcast.com
67 EMCORE Corp Albuquerque        632 www.emcore.com
68 Ktech Corporation Albuquerque        619 www.ktech.com
69 eTelecard Global Solutions Rio Rancho        616 www.etelecare.com
70 College of Santa Fe Santa Fe        564 www.csf.edu
71 Ethicon Endo-Surgery Albuquerque        560 www.ethiconendo.com
72 Mountain View Regional Medical Center Las Cruces        552 www.mountainviewregional.com
73 Border Foods Inc Deming        550 www.borderfoodsinc.com
74 Tresco Inc Las Cruces        530 www.trescoinc.org
75 GE Aircraft Engines Albuquerque        525 www.geae.com
76 Sunland Park Racetrack & Casino Las Cruces        520 www.sunland-park.com
77 Akal Security Inc Espanola        500 www.akalsecurity.com
78 Basin Coordinated Healthcare Inc Farmington        500 www.basinhomehealth.com
79 Brycon Corporation Rio Rancho        500 www.brycon.com
80 GE Aviation Albuquerque        500 www.ge.com
81 JB Henderson Construction Company Albuquerque        500 www.jbhenderson.com
82 Ohkay Owingeh / Pueblo of San Juan Casino San Juan        500 www.ohkay.com
83 Victoria's Secret Direct Rio Rancho        500 www.victoriassecret.com
84 The Peters Corporation (Gerald Peters Gallery) Santa Fe        490 www.gpgallery.com
85 IMC Kallum Carlsbad        454 N/A
86 Albertsons / Osco Drugs Santa Fe        451 www.albertsons.com
87 Lovelace Respiratory Research Institute Albuquerque        450 www.irri.org
88 Southern New Mexico Correctional Facility Las Cruces        450  N/A
89 Gila Regional Medical Center Silver City        443 www.grmc.org
90 Hyatt Tamaya Resort and Spa Albuquerque        426 www.tamaya.hyatt.com
91 Boeing-SVS, Inc. Albuquerque        425 www.boeing.com
92 Holy Cross Hospital Taos        422 www.taoshospital.org
93 Bell Group Albuquerque        400 www.riogrande.com
94 Eye Associates of New Mexico Ltd Albuquerque        400 www.eyenm.com
95 JCPenney Catalog Customer Service Ctr Rio Rancho        400 www.jcpenney.com
96 Thomas & Betts Elastimold Division Albuquerque        400 www.public.trib.com
97 Tyson Prepared Foods Inc Santa Teresa        400 www.tyson.com
98 Oso Biopharmaceuticals Manufacturing LLC Albuquerque        392 N/A
99 Hilltop Landscape Architects & Contractors Albuquerque        380 www.hilltoplandscaping.com
100 G&J Brooks Enterprises Inc Supermarkets Santa Fe        372 N/A
101 Jaynes Companies Albuquerque        354 www.jaynescorp.com
102 Lea Regional Medical Center Hobbs        354 www.learegionalmedical.com
103 1-800-Flowers.Com Alamogordo        353 www.1800flowers.com
104 Albuquerque Manor Albuquerque        350 N/A
105 Hyatt Regency Albuquerque Albuquerque        350 www.hyatt.com
106 Lafarge North America Albuquerque        350 www.lafarge.com
107 Carlsbad Medical Center Carlsbad        337 www.carlsbadmedicalcenter.com
108 Gap, Inc. Albuquerque        325 www.gap.com
109 Specialty Brands, Inc. Albuquerque        325 N/A
110 Premier Distributing Company Albuquerque        310 www.premierdistributing.com
111 Yearout Mechanical Albuquerque        308 www.yearout.com
112 Sparkle Maintenance Inc Albuquerque        305 www.sparklecorp.com
113 Defined Fitness Albuquerque        300 www.defined.com
114 Klinger Constructors LLC Albuquerque        300 www.klingerllc.com
115 Lumber, Inc. Albuquerque        300 www.lumberinc.com
116 Miller Bonded Inc Albuquerque        300 www.mbinm.com
117 Northeast Heights Medical Center Albuquerque        300 N/A
118 Pueblo of Pojoaque Casino Santa Fe        300 N/A
119 Pueblo of Santa Clara Casino Espanola        300 www.bigrockcasino.com
120 The Connection Moriarty        300 www.the-connection.com
121 Heart Hospital of New Mexico Albuquerque        290 www.hearthospitalnm.com
122 Dancing Eagle Casino Casa Blanca        287 www.dancingeaglecasino.com
123 TLC Plumbing and Utility Albuquerque        286 www.tlcplumbing.com
124 ProBuild South Albuquerque        285 www.lumberinc.com
125 Los Alamos National Bank Los Alamos        280 www.lanb.com
126 Vaughn Company Realtors Albuquerque        274 www.vaughancompany.com
127 Embassy Suites Hotel & Spa Albuquerque        265 www.albuquerque.embassysuites.com
128 Pyramid Services Inc. Artesia        263 www.pyramidservicesinc.com
129 Charter Mortgage and Insurance Albuquerque        262 www.charterco.com
130 AUI Inc (Albuquerque Underground Inc) Albuquerque        260 www.auiinc.net
131 Big J Enterprises Albuquerque        250 www.bigjllc.com
132 DataCom Sciences, Inc Albuquerque        250 N/A
133 Galles Motor Company Albuquerque        250 www.galleschevy.com
134 Genzyme Genetics, Inc. Laboratory Santa Fe        250 www.genzyme.com
135 Nor-Lea General Hospital Lovington        250 www.nlgh.org
136 Pueblo of Tesuque Casino Santa Fe        250 www.camelrockcasino.com
137 Roses Southwest Papers Inc Albuquerque        250 www.rosessouthwest.com
138 Sandia Laboratory Federal Credit Union Albuquerque        250 www.slfcu.org
139 US Cotton Rio Rancho        250 www.uscotton.com
140 Westech International Inc Albuquerque        250 www.westech-intl.com
141 Eldorado Hotel & Spa Santa Fe        249 www.eldoradohotel.com
142 Keller Williams Realty Albuquerque        243 www.kwalbuquerque.com
143 Creamland Dairies Albuquerque        240 www.creamland.com
144 Pro-Build / Hope Lumber Inc. Albuquerque        227 www.probuild.com
145 Goodrich Space Flight Systgems Albuquerque        225 www.goodrich.com
146 La Posada de Santa Fe Resort & Spa Santa Fe        225 www.laposada.rockresorts.com
147 La Fonda on the Plaza Santa Fe        220 www.lafondasantafe.com
148 CH2M Hill Albuquerque        219 www.ch2m.com
149 McDade-Woodcock Contractors Albuquerque        219 www.mwieic.com
150 L&M Technologies Albuquerque        216 www.lmtechnologies.com
151 DKD Electric LLC Albuquerque        212 www.dkdelectric.com
152 NM Oncology Hematology Consultants Albuquerque        207 www.nmcancercenter.com
153 COMPA Industries Inc Albuquerque        202 www.compa.com
154 Bueno Foods (El Encanto Inc) Albuquerque        200 www.buenofoods.com
155 Don Chalmers Ford Albuquerque        200 www.donchalmersford.com
156 Foamex Santa Teresa        200 www.foamex.com
157 General Mills Inc Albuquerque        200 www.generalmills.com
158 Hilton Albuquerque Albuquerque        200 www.hiltonalbuquerque.com
159 Applied Research Associates Albuquerque        195 www.ara.com
160 Academy Corp Albuquerque        191 www.academycorp.com
161 CVI Laser Corporation Albuquerque        190 www.civilaser.com
162 Bohannan Huston Inc Albuquerque        185 www.bhinc.com
163 Dekker/Perich/Sabatini Albuquerque        184 www.dpsdesign.org
164 Baillio's Inc Albuquerque        180 www.baillios.com
165 Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa Santa Fe        180 www.bishoplodge.com
166 Kabana Inc Albuquerque        180 www.kabana.net
167 RMCI, Inc. Albuquerque        178 www.mclinc.com
168 Wilson & Company Engineers & Architects Albuquerque        178 www.wilsonco.com
169 New Mexico Orthopaedics / Spine Albuquerque        175 www.newmexicoorthopaedics.com
170 New Mexico Student Loans Albuquerque        175 www.nmstudentloans.org
171 Post Tensioning Reinforcing Services Albuquerque        174 N/A
172 WH Pacific Inc. Albuquerque        170 www.whpacific.com
173 Thornburg Investment Management Santa Fe        162 www.thornburg.com
174 Gerald Martin General Contractor Albuquerque        155 www.geraldmartin.com
175 Albuquerque Marriott Hotel Albuquerque        150 www.marriott.com/abqnm
176 Applied Technology Associates Albuquerque        150 www.aptec.com
177 Bradbury Stamm Construction Albuquerque        150 www.bradburystamm.com
178 Cibola General Hospital Grants        150 N/A
179 El Pinto Restaurant Albuquerque        150 www.elpinto.com
180 New Mexico Heart Institute Albuquerque        150 www.nmhi.com
181 Santa Fe Properties Santa Fe        150 www.santafeproperties.com
182 Saulsbury Electric Co Farmington        150 www.si-tx.com
183 Sun Country Industries Inc Albuquerque        150 www.suncountryindustries.com